ROIVENUE's Orders Analysis Template is for clients who have integrated their Order Management System with Roivenue. If you haven't done it yet but are interested in how you can check it out here.
You can find the Data Studio template here.
Or, download the Power BI file here.
This report is focused on the analysis of your CRM data; specifically the orders of your customers.
In this article, you can find out how this can help you with the management of your business. The KPIs we are working within these reports are related to:
Orders from new customers vs loyal customers
Margins and Costs on the orders
What are the trends and how are the KPI's changing over time
... and more.
While some marketers do not spend much time thinking about Average Order Value, you must, because otherwise, you are neglecting an area with lots of potential for growth. Just imagine: if your AOV is €50, and you focus on how to increase AOV and achieve 10% growth, that's 10% extra revenue without acquiring a single new customer. While this report cannot grow the business for you, it can help you measure the progress of the efforts.
For many of the metrics we have included a sequence analysis - you can compare if the metrics are behaving differently for newly acquired customers (Sequence = 1) vs loyalists who knew you from the past (Sequence > 1). Maybe you will find out that the new customers are testing you out with a smaller order and once you earn their trust, they are willing to order more from you.
The analysis focuses on retention by visualizing an answer to the all-important question: how many of our orders or how much of our revenue is actually generated by orders made by previous customers?
We all know that retaining customers is usually cheaper than acquiring new ones, but not all of us can actually effectively measure the improvements in retention. If you are also able to segment your marketing costs into acquisition and retention, you can gain very precise information on how much cheaper it is to retain a customer and how much you can afford to spend on each category.
The last part of the analysis focuses on the relationships of your KPIs. It might be especially interesting for managing certain time periods - Black Friday, New Year Sales, etc. During this period you usually sacrifice part of your margin in exchange for new acquisitions, growth in revenue, etc. Multiple visualizations on this report help you uncover the real effect.
Now, to return to the aforementioned example about AOV. Maybe you have run a huge promo and achieved the 10% growth in AOV as the customers became interested in more products for the discounted price.
The question you should be asking is: under what circumstances can I consider the promotion to be a success? Maybe it cost you 15% of your margin. The overall profit was lower, but it is still not a problem because it was your plan for attracting new customers and reigniting connections with those who were drifting away. This report should give you the opportunity to know all of this information and plan for future success.
You can explore the report on your own here in Data Studio.
Or browse the report in Power BI by downloading the file below.
To use the report, set up an export like this:
1) Select the Orders dataset on the Data Source tab.
2) Select Source Data. The Export Periodicity depends on your needs: if the report is a one-time analysis or if it needs to be refreshed daily.
3) Select the metrics selected below. You can also add more if needed.
4) The next steps: attribution model, filters and date range; depending on your needs. If you are not sure what each of the tabs means, it is described in more detail in this tutorial.
5) Destination - the last step of export - depends on if you want to use Power BI or Data Studio.
If Data Studio, then it must be set to Google Sheets.
If PowerBI, then it must be set to CSV